Giving Thanks for a Godly Heritage

— by Mark Avery, Editor of The Church Herald and Holiness Banner. Excerpted from November editorial.

My heritage includes an edifying church experience. We did not attend a perfect church with a perfect pastor. Our pastor made mistakes, but he preached the Word of God.

My heritage includes a positive home environment. Once friends at school said our family was poor. I did not know that. We were loved, well cared for, well dressed, and had enough to eat. Our house was small but comfortable.

My heritage includes a positive living example. Among many outstanding qualities demonstrated by my parents were the qualities of stability and consistency. They practiced their faith. What was taught in Sunday school and in sermon was practiced a home, at work, and in the marketplace.

High on my Thanksgiving list is the heritage passed along from my parents. “The lines have fallen unto me in pleasant places.” “The lines” suggest boundaries established for my good. My parents and other godly people helped me learn and apply biblical principles that have kept my life focused on serving God and others. I am grateful. Who would have thought God would use me in some phase of kingdom service. Indeed, His boundaries have led me in “pleasant [delightful] places.”

Comments Off on Giving Thanks for a Godly Heritage

Filed under Mark Avery

Comments are closed.